Skip to Main Content

The Abergavenny and Severnside 20mph pilot zones are now live. Speed Indicator Devices (SIDs) are on order and will be installed shortly to remind drivers of the new speed limits in force. Existing SIDs will be reprogrammed as soon as possible.  The 20mph zones in Shirenewton, Mynyddbach and Devauden have also now been completed and are live.  Mathern, Chepstow Town Centre and the Welsh Street area of Chepstow are expected to be completed by the end of August.  A date for Monmouth and Wyesham will be confirmed as soon as possible.

We will post further updates here as necessary.

Monmouthshire’s streets should become even safer as 20mph zones are being introduced by Monmouthshire County Council. The first of these projects has seen Abergavenny, Llanfoist, Magor, Undy, Rogiet, Caldicot, Portskewett and Caerwent all lowered from 30mph as part of two Welsh Government funded pilot projects. This follows the announcement in 2019 by the First Minister that 20mph should be the default speed limit for all residential roads in Wales.  Legislation to make that change throughout Wales was passed by the Senedd on 12th July 2022 and is due to come into effect on 17th September 2023.

The second project was approved by the Cabinet Member for Infrastructure on 9th March 2022 and will see 20mph zones covering Devauden, Mathern, Monmouth and Wyesham, Shirenewton/Mynyddbach and parts of Chepstow (the town centre and Welsh Street area). The trial Bulwark/Thornwell 20mph zone has been made permanent.  In addition, the Tintern and Raglan 20mph zones have been extended for a further period of up to 18 months, before the end of which consideration will be given to making them permanent.

The third project will be subject to consultation later in 2022 and will propose 20mph zones in Dingestow, Gilwern, Mitchel Troy and Mitchel Troy Common, Usk and the Wye Valley Villages (St Arvans, Catbrook, Llandogo, Llanishen, Penallt, St Arvans and The Narth) (Devauden, Tintern and Trellech are already 20mph).

The proposals form a key part of the Welsh Government’s policy for road safety and active travel throughout Wales by aiming to create a culture for slower speeds, reducing the number and severity of road casualties, supporting alternative travel modes such as walking and cycling by making the roads less intimidating to non-motorised vehicle users and benefiting physical and mental wellbeing.

Monmouthshire County Council will continue to promote the benefits of the lower speed limits throughout the campaign, with GoSafe and Gwent Police continuing to enforce speed limits throughout the county where necessary. Ongoing monitoring throughout the pilot areas will continue, in order for the council, police and Welsh Government to understand the levels of compliance within the new speed limits.

Monmouthshire County Council will be consulting on further proposed 20mph zones later in 2022.

For more information, please visit: Introducing 20mph speed limits: frequently asked questions | GOV.WALES