The Council Chair for 2022 – 2023 is County Councillor Laura Wright

Appointment of the Chair

  • The Chair, who is the Civic Head of the Council, is elected in May of each year at the Annual Meeting of the County Council. 
  • The Chair must be a serving Councillor and must remain politically impartial during their year of office. 
  • During the Annual Meeting of Council the Chair appoints a Consort for their term of office. 
  • The Vice Chair of the Council is also appointed at the Annual Meeting and will represent the Chairman at meetings and events in his/her absence. 

The Role of the Chair 

The Chair has the following responsibilities: 

  • To preside over meetings of the Council so that its business can be carried out efficiently and with regard to the rights of councillors and the interests of the community. 
  • To uphold and promote the purposes of the Constitution when necessary. 
  • To ensure that the Council meeting is a forum for the debate of matters of concern to the local community and the place at which members who are not on the executive are able to hold the executive and committee Chairs to account. 
  • To promote public involvement in the Council’s activities. 
  • To be the conscience of the Council. 
  • To attend such civic and ceremonial functions as the Council and he/she determines appropriate e.g. royal visits, charitable events, supporting local cultural activities.  Whilst representing the County the Chairman wears a Chain of Office.  By stature, the Chair takes precedence within the County, with the exception of Her Majesty the Queen or her representative for the County, the Lord Lieutenant. 
  • The Chair can nominate a charity of their choice and host fund raising events throughout their term of office. 
  • The Chair acts as First Citizen for the County fostering community identity and pride by actively promoting local areas and raising the profile of Monmouthshire and the Council. 

If you would like to invite the Chairman to an event or would like him to visit a community facility, please contact the Chairman’s PA, Linda Greer:  

Tel 01633 644020 or email alternatively write to: The Chairman’s Office, Monmouthshire County Council, County Hall, Rhadyr, Usk  NP15 1GA.  (It would be appreciated if all correspondence could please be sent via the Chairman’s Office and not directly to the Chairman). 

Should the Chairman be unable to attend an event due to a prior commitment the invitation will be passed to the Vice-Chairman, County Councillor Ann Webb