Our Guidance on decision making and how you can get involved in local democracy is available. The Council’s Constitution provides a framework for how the Council should operate and includes rules and procedures on how decisions are made, the conduct scope of the role of councillors, the role and remit of officers and its standing orders. The Constitution of the Council is available to download Below is a list of the committees the council convene, to ensure decisions and effective scrutiny are taken and that the council meets its statutory obligations. Some Committees publish a forward work programme which highlights the issues or decisions that the committee will be considering in the future.

Forward work programmes

The forward work programmes are available against the committees below.

Audit Committee

The Audit Committee has responsibility for ensuring the authority is operating within its remit and ensures sufficient checks are in place to identify any potential misconduct within the authority.

The forward plan is available to view.

View all Audit Committee meeting agendas and minutes

Area Committees

Monmouthshire is split into four area committees, Severnside, Bryn-Y-Cwm, Central Monmouthshire and Lower Wye. Each committee is responsible for a defined area and raising awareness within the Council of local issues. County Councillors for the wards within the area are invited to attend the meeting which is held locally within the area the committee is responsible for.

View all Bryn-Y-Cwm Area Committee meeting agendas and minutes


View all Severnside Area Committee meeting agendas and minutes


View all Lower Wye Area Committee meeting agendas and minutes


View all Central Monmouthshire Area Committee meeting agendas and minutes

Cabinet and Individual Cabinet Members Decisions

Cabinet consist of 8 county councillors, including the leader and deputy/deputies, appointed to the cabinet by the leader of the Council. Each Cabinet member has their own portfolio with responsibility for a number of services within the Council. Decision for cabinet can be taken by all cabinet members at a cabinet meeting or by the individual cabinet member depending on the type of decision, and its implications, that is to be taken. The main responsibility of Cabinet is to ensure that council policies are implemented correctly and discharge any other functions that are not the responsibility of the Council. A list of the Cabinet Member Portfolios  is available.

The forward planner is available to view.

View all Cabinet meeting agendas and minutes


View all Individual Cabinet Member Decisions


Council is a meeting of all the councillors whose main responsibility is to agree the council budget for the forthcoming year and agree policy framework. The Council also decide upon the political management framework and decide how councillors should be allocated to other committees both internally and externally. It is also the role of Council to appoint the Leader of the Council, the Chief Executive and agree any changes to the constitution which the council must abide by.

The forward planner is available to view.

View all County Council meeting agendas and minutes

Democratic Services Committee

The Democratic Services Committee consists of eleven councillors. The committee has responsibility for ensuring that the democratic element of the council is operating correctly including ensuring there is sufficient provision of staff, accommodation and resources to support councillors in their role.

View all Democratic Services Committee meeting agendas and minutes

Licensing and Regulatory Committee

The Licensing and Regulatory Committee is made up of 12 councillors and considers requests from businesses or individuals to hold an event or conduct their business which requires a licence approved by the local authority. More information on licensing.

View all Licensing and Regulatory Committee meeting agendas and minutes


The role of the Planning Committee is to guide the council in the formulation of its policies relating to Town and Country Planning and to exercise the powers and duties of the council as the Planning Authority. The Planning Committee also determines applications under the Town and Country Planning Act 1990 and related legislation in relation to the following:

  • planning applications for mineral extraction or waste disposal unless in respect of small-scale works which are ancillary to an existing mineral working or waste disposal facility;
  • planning applications accompanied by an Environmental Impact Statement;
  • planning applications which represent a significant departure from Structure Plan or Local Plan Policy;
  • planning applications which, by their scale, nature or location, have implications which extend beyond the limits of the area in which they are situated.

More information on planning.

View all Planning Committee meeting agendas and minutes

Scrutiny via Select Committees

Scrutiny is the activity of challenge of decisions and policies to ensure the best possible outcome for people in Monmouthshire.  Scrutiny is a legislative requirement to improve corporate governance by ensuring openness, accountability and transparency in decision-making. The purpose of Select Committees is to ensure Councillors and Officers are held accountable for the decisions they make on behalf of communities.  Select Committees do not have decision-making powers, however, they test whether the Council is making the right decisions and adopting the right policies and makes recommendations as to how Council services can be improved. The Council has four Select Committees:   Adults, Children & Young People, Economy & Development and Strong Communities.  Each committee is responsible for certain services delivered by the Council and their terms of reference can be viewed via the link below.  Membership of each Select Committee comprises nine Councillors who are not members of the Cabinet. The overall Scrutiny Forward Work Programme can be viewed by following the link below.  To view the profile of the individual Select Committees or for more information on how scrutiny operates,  please view our scrutiny webpage www.monmouthshire.gov.uk/scrutiny The Scrutiny Webpage features the “Scrutiny Handbook”, the “Scrutiny and Executive Protocol” and other useful resources for Councillors and Officers. If you would like to discuss Scrutiny or to be involved in the work of the Select Committees, please contact Hazel Ilett, Scrutiny Manager on (01633) 644233 or email Hazelilett@Monmouthshire.gov.uk Monmouthshire Select Committee Terms of Reference Scrutiny forward Work Programme – January 2015

View all Adult Select meeting agendas and minutes


View all Children and Young People Select meeting agendas and minutes


View all Economy and Development select meeting agendas and minutes


View all Strong Communities select meeting agendas and minutes

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee are responsible for promoting and maintaining high standards of conduct by councillors, co-opted members and church and parent governor representatives. The Standards Committee consists of three councillors, five co-opted individuals with voting powers and one individual from the community.

View all Standards Committee select meeting agendas and minutes